13th International Congress of Greek and Latin Epigraphy, Oxford 2007

Epigraphy and the Historical Sciences

University of Oxford 2 – 7 September 2007

Organisation and Venues

The Congress has been organised by the British Epigraphy Society (http://www.csad.ox.ac.uk/BES), in conjunction with the University of Oxford (http://www.ox.ac.uk) and the British Academy (http://www.britac.ac.uk)

The members of the Organising Committee for the Congress are:
Prof. Stephen Mitchell (Exeter), chairman; Dr Benet Salway (London), secretary, David Blackman (Oxford), Dr Charles Crowther (Oxford), Prof. John. Davies (Liverpool), Elaine Matthews (Oxford), Prof. Robert Parker (Oxford), Dr Jonathan Prag (Oxford), Dr Peter Thonemann (Oxford), Dr Susan Walker (Oxford), Prof. John Wilkes (London).

Congress Venues

Accommodation, breakfasts, and lunches:

Christ Church, main entrance on St Aldate's (opposite the church of the same name), and St Edmund ('Teddy') Hall, main entrance on Queen's Lane (6 and 33 respectively on map)

Lectures and panel sessions:

University Examination Schools (22 on map) and Christ Church. It is a 5-minute walk between the Schools and the back entrance to Christ Church on Oriel Square.

Other activities:

The Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology, main entrance on Beaumont Street (A on map). Oxford University Press, old main entrance on Walton Street, main visitor reception now on Great Clarendon Street (see map).

Congress Office:

In advance of the Congress please address academic enquiries to ciegl@classics.ox.ac.uk. Queries about payments, accommodations and other practical matters should be addressed to the Congress Administrator, Jackie Bowman (jackie.bowman@classics.ox.ac.uk). During the Congress help and information will be available from our office in the Examination Schools, ground floor, room 8 (Monday to Friday, 09.00 - 17.30).


Papers, abstracts and posters may be presented in any of the official languages of the AIEGL (English, French, German, Italian, Spanish), which are also those of the Congress.

Sponsored by The British Academy, The Classics Faculty of the University of Oxford, The British Epigraphy Society, Oxford University Press, the Association internationale d'épigraphie grecque et latine, The Society for the Promotion of Hellenic Studies, The Society for the Promotion of Roman Studies, The Cultural Attaché of the Polish Ambassador to the Court of St. James (London), The Onassis Foundation, Mrs Matrona & Mr Nicholas Egon, The British Institute at Ankara, The Council for British Research in the Levant, the Italian Cultural Institute in London, The Hellenic Foundation.